Login

Welcome to Star Wars Locations, anonymous
Thursday, June 22 2017 @ 04:56 AM PDT


 Forum Index > Feedback > Feedback
 World Map
 |  Printable Version
By: steinninn (offline) on Wednesday, September 03 2008 @ 01:14 PM PDT (Read 5470 times)  
steinninn

I've been emailing the admin of this site. But it's been a long time so I even forgot his name :(

Anyway. I thought I'd start an open chat about the World Map section of the site. Should this be restriced to filming locations only. Currently there are a few selected places added that haven't any filming locations, and they are marked in a different color. Any ideas from the users on how to improve this.

I'll rent to original trilogy on DVD soon to get all the missing screenshots. I have the special edition on DVD but I want the original one.


Forum Newbie
Newbie

Status: offline

Registered: 02/25/07
Posts: 14

Profile Email Website  
   
By: Admin (offline) on Wednesday, September 03 2008 @ 11:28 PM PDT  
Admin

Hi Eysteinn,

I like including the places where there wasn't any actual filming and your idea of marking them with a different color seems to work great. I do need to put some kind of chart under the map that tells more about what the different markers are for.

Thanks for all your work in improving the World Map. Did you really forget my name? :)

Thanks,
Bill


Forum Admin
Admin

Status: offline

Registered: 12/09/06
Posts: 81
Los Angeles, CA

Profile Email Website  
   
By: steinninn (offline) on Thursday, September 04 2008 @ 04:42 PM PDT  
steinninn

Yebb, sorry about that. Not good with names, never have been.

Personally I feel we should consentrait on filming locations.

And I still feel we should double the size of the source images. This one mediagallery/mediaobjects/tn/a/a_speeder.jpg is 200x90. I'd like it to be at least 400x180. Without having the source image a long time to load or pixelated.


Forum Newbie
Newbie

Status: offline

Registered: 02/25/07
Posts: 14

Profile Email Website  
   
By: ColinK (offline) on Sunday, September 07 2008 @ 11:09 AM PDT  
ColinK

Bill
When I look at the world map I just see a white area in the browser. I'm using IE7 and can browse the google maps site quite happily.
I've just installed FireFox and it works OK in that. Do you know if it should be working with IE7?

Thanks Eysteinn and Bill (and Google Maps :mrgreen: ) - this looks great.

P.S. I think Leavesden Studio should be a red 'S'.


Forum Chatty
Chatty

Status: offline

Registered: 01/04/07
Posts: 62

Profile Email Website  
   
By: Admin (offline) on Wednesday, September 17 2008 @ 11:18 PM PDT  
Admin

Hi Colin,

Thanks for pointing out the problem with IE. I see the same problem in IE6 and 7. It must have started happening after I updated the site a month or 2 ago. I'm not sure exactly what is wrong. I tried creating a test page that loads the google map a little differently and it seems to work sometimes for me in IE but not all of the time. Very strange. I'll try to look into this more as I find time.

Bill

- update

Could you tell me how it looks to you in the test above and also these 2 other tests?
Map only page outside of the rest of the site.
Using an iFrame to display the map in the site.


Forum Admin
Admin

Status: offline

Registered: 12/09/06
Posts: 81
Los Angeles, CA

Profile Email Website  
   
By: ColinK (offline) on Wednesday, October 01 2008 @ 08:09 AM PDT  
ColinK

Hi Bill,
All 3 links seem to work fine in IE7. But I've only tried them once. Not sure about repeated use.

Colin.


Forum Chatty
Chatty

Status: offline

Registered: 01/04/07
Posts: 62

Profile Email Website  
   
By: Admin (offline) on Wednesday, October 01 2008 @ 11:04 PM PDT  
Admin

Thanks, I switched it around so the main link now loads through the iframe test from before: World Map. This one seems to work the most consistently with IE6 for me. I also added a link to open a new window with the map only in case anyone still has issues seeing it within the site.


Forum Admin
Admin

Status: offline

Registered: 12/09/06
Posts: 81
Los Angeles, CA

Profile Email Website  
   
By: ColinK (offline) on Thursday, October 02 2008 @ 04:20 AM PDT  
ColinK

I tried the new link a few times in IE6 and it seems to be working normally :)


Forum Chatty
Chatty

Status: offline

Registered: 01/04/07
Posts: 62

Profile Email Website  
   



 All times are PDT. The time is now 04:56 AM.
Normal Topic Normal Topic
Locked Topic Locked Topic
Sticky Topic Sticky Topic
New Post New Post
Sticky Topic W/ New Post Sticky Topic W/ New Post
Locked Topic W/ New Post Locked Topic W/ New Post
View Anonymous Posts 
Able to Post 
HTML Allowed 
Censored Content 

Random Image

p1000805
Browse Album

My Account






Lost your password?

Twitter

Facebook